Winter’s Kiss, the sequel to The Biting Cold is out

Hi all

I wrote The Biting Cold as a stand-alone short story back in 2014, but the characters were popular enough to persuade me I needed to write a sequel and merge the story into the main Bite Back thread. So… Winter’s Kiss, a novella, in the newly branded Bite Back: Outsiders series, is up on Amazon now.

USA: https://www.amazon.com/Winters-Kiss-Athanate-Novella-Outsiders-ebook/dp/B01M7M86LF/

UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Winters-Kiss-Athanate-Novella-Outsiders-ebook/dp/B01M7M86LF/

Germany: https://www.amazon.de/Winters-Kiss-Athanate-Novella-Outsiders-ebook/dp/B01M7M86LF/

Australia: https://www.amazon.com.au/Winters-Kiss-Athanate-Novella-Outsiders-ebook/dp/B01M7M86LF/

Canada: https://www.amazon.ca/Winters-Kiss-Athanate-Novella-Outsiders-ebook/dp/B01M7M86LF/

In less good news, I managed to mess up my mailing procedures this morning and sent the emails out in batches with all the email addresses visible. My sincere apologies to all affected.

Tags: , ,

About Mark Henwick

I was born in Africa and left out in the sun too often. An early interest in philosophy and psychology was adequately exorcised by tending bars. And while trying to enroll in a class to read Science Fiction full time, I ended up taking an engineering degree which splendidly qualified me to move into marketing. That in turn spawned a late onset career in creative writing. When not working, I get high by the slightly less conventional means of a small light aircraft. My first book, 'Sleight of Hand' is available on Amazon at http://amzn.to/Sa0D3n

7 responses to “Winter’s Kiss, the sequel to The Biting Cold is out”

  1. Krebs says :

    Dear Mark,
    just finished Winter’s Kiss and it was an really enjoyable read.
    Oh boy, now I’m super curios how Amber and her house will deal with Manda and the Adept boys and vice versa.
    Will that be part of another “Outsiders book” or covered in the main storyline?
    It’s quite interesting to have other characters talk about the events happening in the main story and what it means for them.
    Opens up endless possibilities 😉 also when it comes to incorporate others characters with their own stories.
    Keep up the good work!

    • Mark Henwick says :

      Many thanks, Krebs.

      I am thinking of a short, short story, just a few chapters, giving Amanda’s PoV of meeting Amber and making it a freebie on this site. It would need to be published at the same time as Bite Back 6, which would include the same scenes from Amber’s PoV. All the Outsiders are important characters in the next main Bite Back book. Even ones you don’t suspect will be. 🙂

      I will soon have 3 PoVs for Bite Back, Amber, Bian and Amanda. It has occured to me that I could use all 3 in one book at some time on the future. One of the drawbacks of single, first person PoV is that you can never have something happening off screen that really adds to the narrative. 3 PoVs could overcome that. Just thoughts atm.

      There could be another ‘Outsiders’ book, but I haven’t got that far in my planning.

      • Robert says :

        On the other hand single/first person POVs do a very good job of getting a series, especially a long running one with no particular ending, focused on moving forward at a reasonable rate. It seems pretty easy to end up with 12 different POVs then every book is just a single chapter about each character (Hi wheel of time).

        • Mark Henwick says :

          Well, yes, I’m never going to go to the extent of Wheel of Time or Song of Ice and Fire.

          However… single, first person PoV, is difficult for complex threads because everything either has to happen directly to the principle or is learned in an info-dump.

          Bite Back is that complex.

          And it has a very specific end. Each book moves toward that end (somewhat erratically). 🙂

      • Richard says :

        I think your right … the other pov can now be employed it will add more depth to the story. I agree about overdoing it though, the other pov should be helping to add depth and not compete with other characters. I have found myself skipping ahead in books to continue with a pov that I found relevant.

        I don’t know about correct structure but I do know that I’m interested in the other pov sometimes because of a comment regarding something that happened outside Ambers pov.

  2. Daniel says :

    Love Winters Kiss. Interesting times ahead for Amber i would say. Will anticipate how she tries to get things in line with the Adepts, if she takes Amanda as a subhouse.
    Very interesting times indeed.
    Also nice to see with the eyes of someone who was Athanate for much longer then Amber.

  3. elkwood says :

    Oh wow i would love to read Amanda pov in regards to amber and the gang !

    p.s super excited about the next bb book !!!!

Leave a Reply

