Winter’s Kiss – sequel to The Biting Cold

Apologies for the silence on the blog this last six weeks.

Winter’s Kiss takes the story started in The Biting Cold and weaves it into the Bite Back series. The timeline for them to join up is the end of Angel Stakes. Both The Biting Cold and Winter’s Kiss are short stories (20k and 30k words respectively). Since they are a separate story, but part of Bite Back, and since Amazon really likes series to have names, I’ve decided to all this mini-series Bite Back: Diazoun. The word diazoun is Athanate. It’s the term used for Athanate Houses who isolate themselves from Athanate society.

There may be a third short story in this series.

When? Well, Winter’s Kiss is under the editor’s red pen as I type this. Sooooon.

The original cover image I wanted for Winter’s Kiss was too dark, and I wanted to keep to black letters, so I took the opportunity to rework the two book covers side by side. Please feed back your thoughts!

BOTH new 1

 

 

Tags: , ,

About Mark Henwick

I was born in Africa and left out in the sun too often. An early interest in philosophy and psychology was adequately exorcised by tending bars. And while trying to enroll in a class to read Science Fiction full time, I ended up taking an engineering degree which splendidly qualified me to move into marketing. That in turn spawned a late onset career in creative writing. When not working, I get high by the slightly less conventional means of a small light aircraft. My first book, 'Sleight of Hand' is available on Amazon at http://amzn.to/Sa0D3n

13 responses to “Winter’s Kiss – sequel to The Biting Cold”

  1. bretthumphrey says :

    I like the lighter cover with the black letters; very striking.

  2. dcarnes2014dcarnes says :

    Lighter background is much better

  3. Larry says :

    Color/contrast is good — the reduced font size for “Winter’s” looks a bit off though it can’t be helped…
    You mentioned the possibility of a 3rd — where would you go with that cover?

    • Mark Henwick says :

      3rd cover: Now you’re just being awkward! I can’t think that far ahead in images! šŸ™‚

      I was thinking of reducing the font size for ‘the’ & ‘biting’, to match ‘winter’ but that looks odd too.

      • xsikal says :

        The lack of a ‘the’ in the second title does seem to kind of throw it off a bit. I wonder if you could drop the “the” down to the same line as Bitting, where it serves as a superscript, while also decreasing the font size of Bitting to match Winter’s.

        (But then you have a fair bit of extra space next to the lipstick impressions on both books. Hmm.)

        • Mark Henwick says :

          I know. For a style I chose to be simple, it gets very complex, doesn’t it? Lol.

          • xsikal says :

            I downloaded both cover images and played around them for an hour or so (moving the kiss down to the bottom right, and making each title take up only two lines (with ‘the’ superscripted on the first line for book 1), and in the process, learned that I have the graphic design skills of a pre-schooler. šŸ˜€ I don’t envy you the challenge!

          • Mark Henwick says :

            Lol.
            I’m just changing the subtitle to say novella instead of short story and I’m going with what I have.
            How’s your writing going?

          • xsikal says :

            Pretty well; thank you for asking! I finally “finished” book 4 this month, and am now trying to figure out what to do with a 188k word monstrosity. (The obvious, but potentially insufficient, answer is “edit it”.) šŸ™‚

            I have some full requests out on the manuscript for book 1, but suspect I’ll end up self-publishing all four later this year.

            There are another three books left to write in the series, (assuming interest is there) but it’s definitely time for a break,to focus on my day job. šŸ™‚

          • Mark Henwick says :

            Best of luck with the editing. My favourite job. NOT.

            Keep us posted here!

            I am amazed and envious that (1) you can write and do a ‘proper’ job at the same time and (2) that you’re so confident on exactly how long your series is. šŸ™‚

          • xsikal says :

            Thank you, Mark! I really appreciate the encouragement! I have a 2+ hour commute every day, which gives me time to at least think through what I’m going to write that night or weekend. I didn’t expect that to be a positive (and it took a while to adjust), but it seems to be working out okay for now.

            To be honest, what is now slated to be book six in the series was originally supposed to be book THREE before I realized that would compress the story and character progression far too much, so I can’t promise that the total book count won’t continue to expand as I actually write them. šŸ™‚

            (It’s hard enough sticking to my outlines (and I rarely do, beyond the bare bones) for a single book!)

  4. Justin says :

    What color are you thinking for the third book?

Leave a Reply

