Angel Stakes release date

Hi all

Finally…

Just one more speech to re-write, one more careful read-through…

FRIDAY 15th APRIL

I’ll post when I have a link to Amazon.

About Mark Henwick

I was born in Africa and left out in the sun too often. An early interest in philosophy and psychology was adequately exorcised by tending bars. And while trying to enroll in a class to read Science Fiction full time, I ended up taking an engineering degree which splendidly qualified me to move into marketing. That in turn spawned a late onset career in creative writing. When not working, I get high by the slightly less conventional means of a small light aircraft. My first book, 'Sleight of Hand' is available on Amazon at http://amzn.to/Sa0D3n

18 responses to “Angel Stakes release date”

  1. Clare Hoskins says :

    THRILLED and really looking forward to buying and reading of course !!

  2. Patience says :

    Yyyyeeeeeaaaaaahhhhhhh!!!!!

  3. Dan says :

    Great news! I was begininng to think I might finish re-reading the preceding books before Angel Stakes was released! πŸ˜‰

  4. elkwood says :

    Woot !!!!! Very excited !

  5. Justin says :

    Yes, looking forward to itπŸ˜‚

  6. Daniel Dobbelstein says :

    Awesome looking forwards to it

  7. Clair Letton says :

    Brilliant! I can’t wait πŸ˜ƒ

  8. John says :

    And another one… Been waiting for this! πŸ™‚

  9. Mark Henwick says :

    Thank you Clare, Patience, David, Dan, Elkwood, Justin, Daniel, Clair, John!

    Here’s something for you that’s not really a spoiler. In the opening scene, I use the Shakespeare quote from the Tempest: “We are such stuff as dreams are made on”, except I shorten it by removing that “on” at the end.

    I say that “We are such stuff as dreams are made” is correct archaic English, and Shakespeare added the “on” to hit the beat (10 beats per line in that speech by Prospero). I’ve been told off by some beta readers and my editor for this.

    What say you?

  10. Victoria says :

    Glad the next is almost ready. As for the quote, it depends. Were you quoting Shakespeare, in which case you should have used the whole line. If you just liked the sentiment, I don’t think it was necessary to include the “on”, since it is not proper English grammar to end a sentence on a preposition. Just my humble opinion. πŸ™‚

  11. Daniel Dobbelstein says :

    i think it sounds good to me.

  12. xsikal says :

    Great news! Congrats, Mark!

  13. gallandro83 says :

    I am assuming you will be posting the link when you upload the book. Will that be this evening (12 Am Firday) or later on in the day. When should I spend the time checking your blog?

    gallandro

  14. rjbird77 says :

    I know what I’m doing this weekend πŸ™‚

  15. Mark Henwick says :

    I’ll post an alert here when I submit to the Amazon servers, and a complete new message when I see the links going up (it can be up to 12 hours after submission).

  16. Mark Henwick says :

    Angel Stakes has been uploaded to the Amazon servers (11:20 GMT). On previous form, it’ll take 6 hours or so for the page to appear on Amazon. I’ll do a new post when I have links.

Leave a Reply

