Update – what’s next – what’s up

Angel Stakes

The re-draft of Angel Stakes has fixed almost all the problems. There are a couple of scenes that need tweaking, some general grammar, pronunciation, British-ism removal etc. I’m reasonably sure that means no more than a couple of weeks before publication.

The offer of a teaser comprising the first 3 chapters is still open, just post a comment here or email the usual contact address.

So what’s up at the moment

I’m on Goodreads answering questions about Sleight of Hand specifically and the Bite Back series in general. Any questions you have? Bring them to Goodreads, please. I’d love to see you there. I’ll be offering a new free short story to anyone who posts on these discussions.

You’ll need to be a member of Goodreads, which is free of course, join at https://www.goodreads.com/ and you’ll also need to join the Urban Fantasy discussion group at https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/55293-girls-guns-and-grimoires.

The two discussion threads are https://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/18061756-sleight-of-hand-a-chat-with-the-author and https://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/18061752-sleight-of-hand-general-discussion

I’ve already fielded questions about how Athanate bite humans without infusing them, what hobbies I have in order to come up with all the crazy stuff, and how I can write a woman’s PoV book, but I’m sure there’s lots more to come.

If you haven’t already, do please post book reviews on Goodreads or Amazon. If you have, thank you, much appreciated!

What’s next

I’m working on a short story sequel to The Biting Cold, which will probably be called Winter’s Kiss. I’m restarting work on the first book of Bian’s Tale. I’m gathering threads and events that Bite Back book 6 has to deal with.

Tags: , ,

About Mark Henwick

I was born in Africa and left out in the sun too often. An early interest in philosophy and psychology was adequately exorcised by tending bars. And while trying to enroll in a class to read Science Fiction full time, I ended up taking an engineering degree which splendidly qualified me to move into marketing. That in turn spawned a late onset career in creative writing. When not working, I get high by the slightly less conventional means of a small light aircraft. My first book, 'Sleight of Hand' is available on Amazon at http://amzn.to/Sa0D3n

16 responses to “Update – what’s next – what’s up”

  1. Clair Letton says :

    I only discovered your books a few weeks ago and I finished the story so far this morning. I CANNOT WAIT for Angel Stakes😬 I would love to read the first three chapters to keep me going. Waiting with baited breath for more news of Amber and her house/pack

  2. elkwood says :

    I would also love to read the first 3 chapters ! I am so looking
    forward to angle stakes !!!

  3. Erik B. says :

    I would love to read the first three chapters! Great books so far, Thanks.

  4. Sean O'Malley says :

    I have been keeping an eye on your progress I guess some books are easier than I others. I would love to see the first three chapters.

    Sean

    • Mark Henwick says :

      Thanks Sean. Yes, this one’s been difficult, mainly in balancing the need to move the series’ story forward against the need to move the book’s story forward. It’s nearly there.

      Teaser on it’s way.

  5. Krebs says :

    Hi Mark,

    sounds amazing!! Can’t wait to read the book and it looks like i don’t have to wait that long anymore 🙂
    So curious whats going to happen after the epic finish of the last book and in which way the Adept part and the (now awaken) Dragon are going to pen out.
    Keep up the good work!
    Cheers

  6. T'Ericka says :

    First of all im mad as hell that amazon didnt have your book pop up in my suggestion when they have to know i love ur work amd i have all ur other books. That being said i just finished angel stakes, i havent slept and i have to be to work in 3 hours……Mind….Blown! I just wanted to thank you for taking time to research and address such very real and very heartbreaking issues. And even though you have a full plate and just finished the book but ima give you 4 months vacation and then ima just start actively checking your blog cause after blowing me away ima need to be revived

    • Mark Henwick says :

      Thank you T’Erika!

      Yeah, Amazon and I not getting on so well for some reason. It would be sensible to prompt readers who have the rest of the series, but that doesn’t seem to happen.

      I’m glad you enjoyed it, and I apologise for stealing your sleep 🙂

      I’m starting work on the next projects already, but slowly. I’m also going back to splitting time to do some hobbies because I seem to write quicker that way.

      Keep in touch!

  7. Robin Olsen says :

    I have been listening to your books on audible and re-listen each time a new book is added to the series. I am not particularly tech savvy or I might have found your site before this. I adore your world, its characters and your unique viewpoint on paranormal communities. I have gifted several friends with your books and we enjoy speculating about the possibilities to come. Your narrator is spot on I even hear her voices when I read hard copy. Please send me the first 3 chapters — it gives me another excuse to re-listen to Cool Hand.

    • Mark Henwick says :

      Thanks Robin. Angel Stakes teaser is on the way.

      I should be speculating about some possibilities for future stories on this blog in due course…keep tuned.

  8. benjamin says :

    will the next one be more light hearted. It was a great book but it was a bit darker then the others. Escpecially with certain issues. Like I said it was a great book just those parts (won’t say for fear of spoliers though kind of easy to pick out if you read or wrote the book) were hard. Also do you think it will be out by the end of the year. I;m one of those people who check every day on kindle

    • Mark Henwick says :

      Hi Benjamin

      The series is, by nature, quite dark. Having said that, Angel Stakes was the book in which the darkest aspects of Amber’s personal history are addressed, and there will be no other Bite Back book where having that as a major theme is necessary. Nevertheless, the final paragraph provides a hint that there is more of this to be resolved for others.

      I cant make publication date predictions. That’s not a matter of my preference, it’s simply that when I try, I fail. Before Bite Back 6 is started, there will be the sequel to The Biting Cold and Bian’s Tale 1. Now, both of those are welll under way, but on previous form, I can’t promise Bite Back 6 this year, though that is what I’m trying to accomplish.

Leave a Reply

