Angel Stakes – where am I

Okay. As you will know from following the blog, Angel Stakes needed major editing. The supporting sub-plots needed a complete overhaul to take the book from Draft 2 to Draft 3.

I’m currently at Chapter 55 of Draft 3. The word count to Ch 55, despite best efforts to keep it down, is 117k and there’s another 33k in the remaining, unedited Draft 2 chapters. The book is going to be another long one at 150k. For reference, Cool Hand was 138k, Wild Card was 172k.

The numbers don’t mean I’m only 75% of the way through. The earlier parts were the hardest. There’s a lot to do on the last section, but much of it is shuffling things around.

And then it goes back to Lauren for what I hope will be a final pass.

I’m not giving schedules. I’m just saying I’m a lot closer. 🙂

I’ll report again when the book goes off for editing.

Tags: , ,

About Mark Henwick

I was born in Africa and left out in the sun too often. An early interest in philosophy and psychology was adequately exorcised by tending bars. And while trying to enroll in a class to read Science Fiction full time, I ended up taking an engineering degree which splendidly qualified me to move into marketing. That in turn spawned a late onset career in creative writing. When not working, I get high by the slightly less conventional means of a small light aircraft. My first book, 'Sleight of Hand' is available on Amazon at http://amzn.to/Sa0D3n

15 responses to “Angel Stakes – where am I”

  1. Jon.Gray says :

    I’m getting more anxious by the day, but I have put the long wait to good use. I found an author from your facebook posts that I like and read everything she has out. Now I’m waiting for both of you.

    • Dee DenBleyker says :

      Same here. I am reading all of Alexandra Sokoloff’s books.

      • Jon.Gray says :

        I got hooked on the Storm Chronicles and Shadowlands series by Skye Knizley. I did read the first of Ms. Sokolffs series but haven’t gotten back to it yet.

  2. Henry says :

    S’okay–it just means the cake will be sweeter. I’m holding off rereading the sections so I don’t go through that dissonance phase of, “That’s not what I remember!” Let us know when we can help.

  3. wiggiemomsi says :

    WHOO HOO! So, when can I start posting my “Is the book done yet?” ostrich picture, and annoy the heck out of you? Hey, everybody needs a hobby! :o)

  4. don says :

    Will be worth the wait, but anxious. 🙂

  5. Mark Henwick says :

    Thank you all! Past 120k words edited today – just the last section & epilogue to re-draft.

    Great to hear about Alexandra Solokoff and Skye Knizley being appreciated. I’ll do a summary of my reading habits at some time.

    Just cleaning the shotgun in case I see an ostrich popping up on my screen 🙂

  6. Mikael says :

    Do you have any plans to finish Bian’s Tale?

    • Mark Henwick says :

      Hi Mikael

      Yes.

      I stopped Bian’s Tale because the later sections didn’t feel right, and my editor agreed with that assessment. The trouble was, I couldn’t ‘feel’ what was wrong and I needed to keep the main Bite Back series going.

      I now think I know how to fix it, and it’ll be the next on my list after I finish Angel Stakes.

      I’ll write a progress update tomorrow.

  7. Richard says :

    No worries Mark, it will get done and we will be happy. Looking forward to it ri

  8. xsikal says :

    Sounds like you’re making good progress! Looking forward to the release. 🙂

  9. rjbird77 says :

    Better well done, even if it takes longer. I know squat about writing books, but I know that when I am programming, if I don’t like the way the code looks or how one piece fits with another it is back to looking and tweaking :). I have two things I usually say. Everything takes longer than I think it will, and simple doesn’t mean easy.

  10. Mark Henwick says :

    Thank you all. Working on chapters 68-69. Finished editing about 144k words. Now expecting the book to be >150k, but getting there.

Leave a Reply

