Angel Stakes editing

Still working on the draft 3 edit, which is difficult and proceeding slowly.

This is the slowest progress I’ve ever made on a novel.

I will update the blog when I have a sensible amount of news.

Jessica and Joshua are reworking the covers again. The new-old style goes back to pictures of Amber against a varying background, but the pictures are mch more tightly cropped – the way I did for the first version of Cool Hand. I’ll give a sneak preview with the next update.

Tags:

About Mark Henwick

I was born in Africa and left out in the sun too often. An early interest in philosophy and psychology was adequately exorcised by tending bars. And while trying to enroll in a class to read Science Fiction full time, I ended up taking an engineering degree which splendidly qualified me to move into marketing. That in turn spawned a late onset career in creative writing. When not working, I get high by the slightly less conventional means of a small light aircraft. My first book, 'Sleight of Hand' is available on Amazon at http://amzn.to/Sa0D3n

10 responses to “Angel Stakes editing”

  1. gallandro83 says :

    I guess I can wait but sure don’t want to.

    Just know that my money is already spent and review posted when the book gets to my hand.

  2. Susan Illene says :

    Mark, I’ll make you a deal. Give me a sneak peek of your new covers once they’re ready and I’ll give you sneak peek of the cover for Dancing with Flames πŸ™‚

  3. xsikal says :

    Hang in there, Mark! It’s always a pain when things take longer than expected, but I’m sure it’ll be worth the wait for all of us. πŸ™‚

  4. gallandro83 says :

    So I was thinking about the new book and your reader base and is there any way you could release a little before March 8th? This is when the next book in the Mercy series by Ms. Briggs comes out and if you could get your books and their new covers into any top lists at the same time it might help your own sales since the two books are tangentially similar? There are also a number of other urban fantasy novels featuring female characters that will be coming out over the next month or two. (Elemental Assassin, Chicagoland Vampires, Alex Craft, InCryptid.) It seems to be a bit of a cluster and I don’t know if its deliberate on the part of big publishers or not but in the theme that a rising tide raises all ships if many readers are out buying books at the same time maybe it could help your own sales.

    On the other hand the sales numbers of these could obscure your new book so what do I know. Either way just a quick FYI to let you know in case your so busy writing that you don’t read as much in genre.

    I can (but don’t want to) wait for your new book whenever it comes

    • Mark Henwick says :

      Thanks Gallandro. I *have* lost touch with what’s being published & it’s an odd time for such a cluster.
      I’m not sure what I could put out in that timeframe.
      Editing going better today. Will update soon.

  5. Pathologic says :

    unrelated to the post: I don’t know how the categorization on amazon works, but i assume all categories are given under look for similar items. In case of SoH it’s only listed under urban and paranormal fantasy.

    Adding some categories may help to give the reader a better idea what they are to buy and make it easier to find the book.

    • Mark Henwick says :

      Hi Pathologic (!)

      When you submit a book to Amazon, you are allowed to pick two novel categories. Amazon, for reasons it does not reveal, may add other categories to a book, but otherwise, you’re stuck with 2.

      I picked Contemporary Fantasy and Urban Fantasy. I have been thinking about changing these. That *may* mean that the books appear in different lists.

      You are also allowed to enter 7 search terms like ‘vampire’, ‘PI’, ‘werewolf’, ‘magic’ and so on.

  6. Daniel Dobbelstein says :

    I’d put paranormal mystery there too,

Leave a Reply

