Book 5, Angel Stakes, delayed

There’s a delay on publishing Angel Stakes.

Last week was looking so good. I had everything except the last chapter with my editor, I’d been able to boost my writing rates while still managing to publish the German version of Wild Card and sign off on the audio version as well.

This week…

The whole year has been disrupted with building works, inside and outside our house. We were getting to the end of the list, and I was all for packing up for the season. Some of that was pure cowardice: parts of this house date back to the 1880s, and our living room (next on the list for work) was once a shed in a builder’s yard!

Well, long story shortened: we are now in the process of tearing out the damp, rotten supports we found underneath the old floor covering. This wood has the consistency of wet cardboard, so it’s a miracle it hadn’t already collapsed.

Where does that leave me and the writing process? The living room will become an empty shell this week, and all the furniture has had to be moved out. That has encroached on my work spaces (some of which were already storage areas during the renovation work). And that will remain while concrete sets and floors get replaced. I will be involved in some of the donkey work as a digger and concrete spreader! 🙂

At the same time, the pre-Christmas window of opportunity with Lauren, my editor, is closing.

I will keep you updated, but I’m looking at February now.

Apologies!

Tags: , , ,

About Mark Henwick

I was born in Africa and left out in the sun too often. An early interest in philosophy and psychology was adequately exorcised by tending bars. And while trying to enroll in a class to read Science Fiction full time, I ended up taking an engineering degree which splendidly qualified me to move into marketing. That in turn spawned a late onset career in creative writing. When not working, I get high by the slightly less conventional means of a small light aircraft. My first book, 'Sleight of Hand' is available on Amazon at http://amzn.to/Sa0D3n

9 responses to “Book 5, Angel Stakes, delayed”

  1. Scath says :

    My sympathies. Been there, will be there again. We still have a room left to do in our house!

  2. Dee DenBleyker says :

    Hi Mark Sounds like you certainly have your hands full but I am sure it will all be worth it in the end and you will enjoy your finished home. I am still reading the draft along with the previous chapters and it’s slow going, so I will get back to you when I am finished. Dee DenBleyker

  3. gallandro83 says :

    Sorry to hear about the floors. You still are beating writing times of some of the big name authors out there so don’t feel bad. Will look forward to Angel Stakes whenever it pops up into the queue.

  4. Martina says :

    Well, to shorten the wait I just started to re-read the series. Started with sleight oh hand yesterday 😉

  5. Mark Henwick says :

    Thank you all.
    Floor problems under control.
    Evil editor says more edits needed. 🙂
    Will keep you posted.

  6. Pierre Combes says :

    Hi Mark, no worries. I am sure it will be worth the wait. Happy Holiday’s and best wishes for the New Year.

  7. John Ritchey says :

    sorry that the floors are slowing down the next installment. But on the good side, how cool is it to day “my daughter is an X-wing pilot”

    Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

