End of month roundup delayed!

My normal end of month round-up is delayed while I get Angel Stakes down to the last few chapters.

I’m scheduled to hand over the preliminary draft to my editor, Lauren Sweet, on the 7th October. Aaahhhhh!

It looks as if I’ll have it ready as far as the final action scenes. There’s a further scene after that, which I’m calling an ‘epilogue’ – it’s related to what has happened in the book, and provides a twist and link into the next book, but it’s too long after the final action (which, as happens with my books, is quite long and complex) Β πŸ™‚

Obviously, the beta readers will get that draft too, and it will include some polishing I’ve done for the earlier sections, based largely on feedback from them.

Hard at work.

About Mark Henwick

I was born in Africa and left out in the sun too often. An early interest in philosophy and psychology was adequately exorcised by tending bars. And while trying to enroll in a class to read Science Fiction full time, I ended up taking an engineering degree which splendidly qualified me to move into marketing. That in turn spawned a late onset career in creative writing. When not working, I get high by the slightly less conventional means of a small light aircraft. My first book, 'Sleight of Hand' is available on Amazon at http://amzn.to/Sa0D3n

12 responses to “End of month roundup delayed!”

  1. James Drake says :

    Mark, baby, get it done right, not fast (which is coincidentally what my ex-wife used to say to me).

    Jim

  2. XK says :

    Great news, Mark! Congrats on the (upcoming) milestone!

  3. gallandro83 says :

    can’t wait. Will need to check more often to make sure I can grab the book ASAP. I really enjoy your books and can’t wait for more.

  4. Mark Henwick says :

    Thanks James, XK, Gallandro!

    Will keep posting progress.

  5. Robert says :

    Need progress report! Must have book 6!

  6. Dan says :

    This is the first time I’ve commented on an author’s site, but then, Bite Back is the only urban fantasy or paranormal I’ve truly loved. Besides the fantastic story, the care you take with your dialog and editing really makes a difference in how the stories flow. I’m really looking forward to the next book and hopefully many more, but as has already been said, getting it right is better than getting it fast.

  7. Robert says :

    Updates please!

    • Mark Henwick says :

      I’m having a Skype conversation with Lauren on Thursday. She has some issues with the way the book hangs together, so there are some editing tasks I can feel coming my way.
      The actual draft is 95% there.
      It’s close.
      I’ll post a real update at the weekend.

Leave a Reply

