Progress on audio version of Hidden Trump

A very brief post.

I received the draft audio from Julia Motyka this weekend, and we’re really close. I’m in the process of reviewing. It’s 16 hours long – so, unfortunately, I’m losing a couple of writing days. What I can say is that this is pretty awesome. Julia’s ability to capture accents is phenomenal – there is the hint of Greek in Diana’s voice, the fussy French of Remy, the broad Texan of Ingram. Wonderful!

I should have completed the review by tomorrow and there are very small corrections to make. I hope the audiobook will be on Audible this month. I’ll put up a little sample soon.

 

Tags: , ,

About Mark Henwick

I was born in Africa and left out in the sun too often. An early interest in philosophy and psychology was adequately exorcised by tending bars. And while trying to enroll in a class to read Science Fiction full time, I ended up taking an engineering degree which splendidly qualified me to move into marketing. That in turn spawned a late onset career in creative writing. When not working, I get high by the slightly less conventional means of a small light aircraft. My first book, 'Sleight of Hand' is available on Amazon at http://amzn.to/Sa0D3n

6 responses to “Progress on audio version of Hidden Trump”

  1. Mark Henwick says :

    Thanks!
    Just taking a moment out from reviewing to go all fan at Julia’s characterisation and narrating ability.
    You recall from Hidden Trump that we meet two people from the Indian sub-continent – Arvinder Singh (House Singh) and Ronit Chopra (Diakon of House Singh).
    The voices I heard in my head (yes!) made Arvinder sound very British-Indian; a gentleman educated in a traditional British public school, and just a hint of accent to place him. Ronit sounded much more modern Indian – he speaks English well, but there is a definite accent there. I passed this to Julia and she’s nailed it *exactly*. Many people can do a workable Indian accent, but to shade it so one is broad and the other is slight is quite something. And then mix it in dialogue with other people…

    Back to reviewing. πŸ™‚

    • wiggiemomsi says :

      THANK YOU Mark for not using the same narrator again!! Julia Motyka is great; as soon as the audio is out, I’ll be all over it like white on bread!! :o)

  2. Richard says :

    can’t wait, next thing on the list is the miniseries. I’ll have my people call your people. LOL

Leave a Reply

