May update. Late!

It’s June already!

The first quarter of Bite Back 5 is pretty solid. I’ll be contacting beta readers within the next fortnight to see if they’re game for the first installment…

The second quarter is well drafted, but it needs a lot of work to link the scenes together in a way that feels natural. The book is still looking to be approximately the length of SoH or HT.

I’m still not sure about the name. Angel Stakes? I’m rubbish with book names, and as ever, there are several threads in the story, so which should the title refer to?

I’m also rubbish at posting blogs at the moment. What with May’s scheduled road trip across Europe dragging a humungous trailer, the cough & cold to end all coughs and colds, and family distractions, it wasn’t a good month for writing. Writing progressed at the expense of blogging, which is the way round I guess you would want it.

Distractions… Jessica is due to be in Singapore at the end of the week, doing promotional work for Game of Thrones. My wife, Pearlyn, will be joining her out there to catch up with all her old friends again. Jessica then has a radio version of the legal drama, Silk, to do. Then, Florida Comicon in Tampa Bay. Then, Game of Thrones Season 6! Difficult to keep up with her sometimes.

I was going to go to Tampa Bay with her, but I’m too far behind on my schedule. I keep promising myself I will take a trip to the USA this year to connect with readers and do some more research on locations for Bite Back. Ideally, I’d mix that with a trip to Saigon for some research on Bian’s Tale, but that seems unlikely at the moment. Maybe after I’ve published this book…

I hope I’ll be able to blog a bit more this month.

 

 

 

About Mark Henwick

I was born in Africa and left out in the sun too often. An early interest in philosophy and psychology was adequately exorcised by tending bars. And while trying to enroll in a class to read Science Fiction full time, I ended up taking an engineering degree which splendidly qualified me to move into marketing. That in turn spawned a late onset career in creative writing. When not working, I get high by the slightly less conventional means of a small light aircraft. My first book, 'Sleight of Hand' is available on Amazon at http://amzn.to/Sa0D3n

14 responses to “May update. Late!”

  1. Deirdre Devine says :

    Aces and Angels! Aces Over Angels! Anyhooo…Good to get an update from you! I’m in an after book depression. That time where you wait for the next one but you know it’s going to be a looong time! lol =) I have not been able to find another book and/or series lately that doesn’t make me yawn! Ah well, such is life =) Hope you and yours are well!

  2. mike gibbons says :

    thanks for the update! just finished a book called “Radiant” by karina sumner smith, was really good. incase you where looking for more book recs 😛

  3. Mark Henwick says :

    Queen of Angels. Redemption Bid. New Hand. Dunno.
    Radiant looks interesting, Mike, thanks.
    I must get all my books out (stored in boxes in the attic atm) and make some recommendations that I haven’t made before. Maybe I can find something to recommend to you, Deirdre. (If you’re on Goodreads, I could see what you’ve read already…)

  4. Deirdre Devine says :

    I did a search and was looking for poker hands that have angels in the title. No luck! =( I am not a member of good reads. I should be. I go there for reader reviews all the time. I should join! I’ve been starting and stopping so many books lately, I’m starting to think I have become really jaded! Foof!

  5. Richard A says :

    sorry to hear about your cold, hope your feeling better soon.

  6. Charles Wood says :

    I recently finished reading all of the Bite Back books on my Kindle. “Outstanding good”, as a German I served with in NATO was wont to say. If you need more beta readers, I would be happy to volunteer. I spent over 14 years in the U.S. Army and served in Europe and Vietnam. I am 70, an avid reader and a bit of a gun nut. If you are interested, my email is <>.

  7. Bernd says :

    I am still ready to beta read. New job but willing

  8. Mark Henwick says :

    Thanks Bernd. It’s not a priority commitment. Life happens 🙂

    Okay, my beta reader panel at the moment comprises

    Bernd, Kathleen, Charles, Jason, Jon, Ken, Richard, Robert, Sarah, Scottie, Sally, TK, Leiah, John.

    I’m paranoid about security, hence first names only.

    It’s possible I’ve missed a couple as I had to reconstruct my spreadsheet from a backup a while back. If you think you should be there or want a glimpse, email me at the athanate.com contact address…

    Beta readers aren’t there to spot typos, though any reports are welcomed. Real purpose is to give some immediate feedback on pacing, plot, ‘logic bombs’ and so on.

    Should be emailing the first quarter to the betas in the next week. First quarter is about 25k words. I’ll post on the blog/FB when I send the email.

  9. Libro Vore says :

    Book titles are important–ridiculously so, given their relationship to the text of the story (too frequently very little, as an observation). Though you seem to have settled on a working title, I suggest a few alternatives for your consideration:

    Hand of Dreams
    LA Shuffle
    Table Stakes
    Angel Draw
    Cold Deck
    Inside Straight
    Low Deal (or High Deal, depending upon plot)

    I’ll also put in a bid to be a beta reader for the next book, as you have already drawn your hand for this one.

    • Mark Henwick says :

      Those are good names! Thanks.
      I thought of LA Shuffle, but didn’t like it because of shuffle = walk slowly
      I’m not really happy with Angel Stakes, but I don’t want to spend energy on obsessing about it at the moment. I’ll save that for the last minte!

Leave a Reply

