End of March roundup

Reviews

Cool Hand is continuing to generate wonderful reviews and feedback.

There are 33 reviews just on US Amazon, along with 15 on Goodreads (mysteriously split between two ‘versions’ of the book). 7 reviews on the UK Amazon site, 4 in the rest of the world, and a couple on Kobo. Thanks to all of you again.

Sales

Raw Deal                        20,187

Sleight of Hand             22,046

Hidden Trump              15,483

Wild Card                        6,601

Cool Hand                        2,101

Hidden in the raw numbers is a boost for the sales of all the books – they’re selling ten times better than they were last month.  And Wild Card retention has jumped a couple of percentage points.

Comparison

Hidden Trump is still my leading launch.  In the same period that Cool Hand has just sold 2,101, Hidden Trump sold 3,596. Launching HT for the Christmas/New Year book-buying season while there was still a big buzz from the launch of Sleight of Hand had a dramatic effect.

Bite Back 5 progress

I have a few scenes already written. This always happens at the start of a book – there are scenes that are yelling at me and I have to write them. ‘Progress’ appears very quick at the start.

The first chapter is finished, because it’s really just a prologue, linking Cool Hand with BB5. From chapter 2 to about 6 covers the resolution of the cliffhanger, and I can see myself rewriting that a few times as it’s such a key to Amber’s life story.

Overall, I’ve spent more time plotting than writing. As mentioned before, the structure of the story will be a non-paranormal PI case, but the paranormal world goes on, with very important events happening (Basilikos, Were halfies, Empire of Heaven to name three), and I need to tie the two together neatly.

New covers

My son, his partner, and my daughter (Gideon, Sophie and Jessica) are doing these. They should appear in May, I estimate. I’ll reveal them here first.

Others…

Bian’s Tale – The Reach of Lies

I will be working on this as well, re-plotting and re-writing from section 2 onwards, but I’ve not spent any substantial time on it yet.

The Biting Cold II

This will be needed as part of the process of binding Manda and Scott into Amber’s story during BB5.

So Many Doors

Actually, not my book. My late mother wrote this book in 1964. It was never published. It’s a murder mystery set in the British colony of Northern Rhodesia (where I was born). I’ve long promised to tidy it up and publish it, and I guess now is as good a time as any! That won’t use the same part of the brain as writing, so it won’t interfere with BB5.

 

Tags: , ,

About Mark Henwick

I was born in Africa and left out in the sun too often. An early interest in philosophy and psychology was adequately exorcised by tending bars. And while trying to enroll in a class to read Science Fiction full time, I ended up taking an engineering degree which splendidly qualified me to move into marketing. That in turn spawned a late onset career in creative writing. When not working, I get high by the slightly less conventional means of a small light aircraft. My first book, 'Sleight of Hand' is available on Amazon at http://amzn.to/Sa0D3n

3 responses to “End of March roundup”

  1. Sarah L says :

    Glad that sales are boosted, they are deserved. I certainly mention your books where I can 🙂 Very exciting projects coming up and I am very pleased to hear that Scott and Manda will be tied into Bite Back world.

  2. Mark Henwick says :

    I get a lot of feedback through email. Some of it is detailed and some of it is not. The level of detail isn’t as big a thing to me as the communication itself. If you want to say something, it certainly doesn’t have to be an essay.

    I just wanted to share with you a recent example (in its entirety) that made my day:
    “Mate, be right, not quick.”

    🙂

Leave a Reply

