Cool Hand – Friday release

The last round of editing is still going on…

But I feel confident. Friday 6th March. (2015).

Here’s the temporary cover, and the first page. The book has grown another 3,000 words.

Cool Hand Cover

 

“Sometimes, nothing can be a real cool hand.”

Paul Newman as Luke Jackson in Cool Hand Luke.

Chapter 1

WEDNESDAY NIGHT

“If you don’t believe your whole life has been a path leading to this one point, you’re not focused enough.”

That had been Top, while I was training in Ops 4-10.

But he’d also said: “You’re every second of training we’ve hardwired into you. Focus on the big picture and your instincts will handle the rest.”

What happened if my instincts led me down the wrong path?

 

It was just after midnight. I was burrowed into a thick layer of snow, peering through a gap in a field of winter wheat, scoping out the hideout of the last remaining Matlal Athanate in Denver. Or rather, an hour east of Denver in a remote location on the high plains—one reason why the place had been so tough to find.

In fact, I wasn’t the one who’d found it. It was Nick Gray, the skinwalker, who’d sent me the intel. I was grateful, but also wary. He’d already gone above and beyond the terms of his original contract in helping me rescue Emily Schumacher from Dr. Noble. In my current exhausted, foggy state, I couldn’t even remember what I’d promised him if he could hunt down the remaining Matlal. Anything he wanted, probably. With a bonus of extra ‘anything’ if we managed to rescue the toru—their blood slaves.

 

Tags: ,

About Mark Henwick

I was born in Africa and left out in the sun too often. An early interest in philosophy and psychology was adequately exorcised by tending bars. And while trying to enroll in a class to read Science Fiction full time, I ended up taking an engineering degree which splendidly qualified me to move into marketing. That in turn spawned a late onset career in creative writing. When not working, I get high by the slightly less conventional means of a small light aircraft. My first book, 'Sleight of Hand' is available on Amazon at http://amzn.to/Sa0D3n

11 responses to “Cool Hand – Friday release”

  1. Tony says :

    Yay!

  2. serayna says :

    Hurray! What a week, today Becca McMaster’s, Patricia Brigg’s and Anne Bishop’s new novels were published and now this, I don’t where to start! But no complaining, this is way too good to be true:)

  3. Shannon says :

    I don’t think that i have been in this much anticipation of a novel being released since i was in middle school waiting for Louis L’amour’s “Comstock Lode”. I would go into the book store at least once a week asking for it. It got so the clerks would see me enter the store and tell me “It isn’t in yet”.

    Like that, i keep checking Amazon and my email daily just to see if “Cool Hand” has been unpacked and waiting for me on the shelf.

    Well done Mark, to be able to build that much anticipation!

  4. Sarah L says :

    Good luck with the last minute things. I am very excited about this release!

  5. Dee DenBleyker says :

    Great Start! Can’t wait!

  6. C Hoskins says :

    Well done on writing such a great series and thank you so much for keeping writing. Looking forward to Cool Hand …whatever the release date x

  7. Jon.Gray says :

    Oh boy, 3000 more words to enjoy.

  8. wiggiemomsi says :

    Hooray, hooray! Loved the excerpt … anticipation builds … bouncing in my chair in anticipation of the book being released! :o)

  9. James Drake says :

    Mark, get it right, rather than rushed. If i want rushed, i’ll sleep with my ex-wife.

    Jim Date: Tue, 3 Mar 2015 08:51:21 +0000 To: slimjimdrake@hotmail.com

  10. Rickie says :

    the cover looks good. are you going to post the photoshoot?

Leave a Reply

