Update schedule for Cool Hand

I promised an update on Cool Hand.

Well, the bad news is that I’ve had a poor week. My editor has pointed out problems in key scenes in the middle, and I’ve spent the week on them without being able to resolve them to my satisfaction. The book has to be right and these important chapters are not yet up to the quality I want.

This has an effect on the schedule. I’ll post again next weekend, but at the moment, I’m thinking the publication date is going to have to slip and that might be as far as January.

I’m very disappointed in myself. As Amber would say – no excuses. My apologies and I’ll keep you posted.

 

Tags:

About Mark Henwick

I was born in Africa and left out in the sun too often. An early interest in philosophy and psychology was adequately exorcised by tending bars. And while trying to enroll in a class to read Science Fiction full time, I ended up taking an engineering degree which splendidly qualified me to move into marketing. That in turn spawned a late onset career in creative writing. When not working, I get high by the slightly less conventional means of a small light aircraft. My first book, 'Sleight of Hand' is available on Amazon at http://amzn.to/Sa0D3n

13 responses to “Update schedule for Cool Hand”

  1. Shannon says :

    Better right, than right now. I think we have all read books that have felt rushed and were dissatisfied. A few more weeks wont kill us, although we may bitch as if it were. 😉

  2. Libro Vore says :

    While I’m anxious to read the book, I appreciate your unwillingness to compromise. I’ll just enjoy it more when the book does come out.

  3. Jon.Gray says :

    Well, you’ve got to play the hand you’re dealt…do what you can while you can…

  4. Jason says :

    It’s Ok Mark, keep you chin up and plugging away until you get there and the book will be even better. Those who love your work will still love it and the new folks will just have more time to enjoy the previous books or the anticipation will build them to a great climax so to speak. Eh, anyway keep up the good work only you can do, have a happy and fun holiday!

  5. XK says :

    It happens… no worries. Better that you fix those scenes then regret the book forever. 😉 I’m on book 4 of my unpublished series and have started taking a serious look at something from 1000 pages earlier (in book 1) that still bugs me!

  6. elkwood says :

    Its all good!! Better to get it right then not

  7. Harper Andree says :

    Please take your time, I’m sure it’ll be worth the wait

  8. Mark Henwick says :

    Thank you all!

    These have been really helpful to get my mind back into high gear.

  9. Richard says :

    just like everyone else, I am willing to wait for quality. to many times I’ve read books were the ending felt rushed. get it right and I will be grateful, no matter how long it takes to get it out.

  10. smawbvj says :

    Mark, take a deep breathe, relax, exhale, repeat. Now stop being angry? mad? what? at yourself! Keep repeating until you feel relaxed. Give your mind a break, enjoy your holidays and then start writing. Your readers will be there cheering you along. And when the book does come out we all will be happy that you took your time to get it right. HAPPY HOLIDAYS.

  11. Bernd says :

    This is making art not making a tin can to sell. Take your time and make it great. A few weeks delay will not kill us as others up thread have said though we may moan and make sad puppy eyes like you have kicked us you have not! Get it right first as everyone will enjoy it more that way.
    That said where’s the book?

  12. Mark Henwick says :

    And again, thank you!

    You’ve all been really supportive here and on the Facebook page, and that has helped tremendously.

    I’ll post an update at the weekend.

Leave a Reply

