Monthly roundup – update on schedules

NEWS: Anthology, Cool Hand progress, Hidden Trump in Deutsch, Sleight of Hand in audio.

ANTHOLOGY – ‘A Very Paranormal Holiday’

The anthology is nearly ready.

path in the woods in winter

Six stories by Urban Fantasy authors with a sorta Christmas theme, including mine, The Biting Cold, which is set in the same Athanate world as Amber’s, but with a different cast.

Do lawyers wrap presents with ribbons at Christmas? What do vampires do under the mistletoe? Is Santa something evil in disguise? What does it means when demons get their rocks off? What happens if you meet your grandfather?

The answers to some of these questions lie in this book.

The only way you get the anthology is to send me an email request as many have done already. You’ll get a Kindle format file back by email when it’s released. Soon. If you want ePub format for iBook, just say. Apart from sending you this anthology, your email will only be used by the authors to give you an alert when we publish a new book. You can unsubscribe of course. Your email will not be sold or traded to anyone else, or used for anything other than the new publication alerts.

COOL HAND

About 90% there. The first 75% has been through the main edit process. The first 50% has been seen by the beta reader panel. We’re close enough for me to step up the reporting, so I’ll try and remember to post something over the next couple of weekends as we get to the published version just before Christmas.

Beta reader panel was about 90% positive, and many of the points they brought up I will deal with.

This is not the cover. It’s just Amber (Maria) looking gorgeous as we got ready to do the photoshoot.

PhotoShoot Preparation 01

TRUMPF IM ÄRMEL

Das ist ‘Hidden Trump’ in Deutsch. Fertig für Weihnachten. Jetzt Endredaktion.

Nun, eine Frage. Was soll ich rufen WILD CARD in Deutsch? Nicht ‘Joker’, bitte.

SLEIGHT OF HAND

The complete first pass audio is with me. I’ve spotted a few errors which need to go back and I need to hear it through one more time. I hope this will also be ready by Christmas!

Tags: , ,

About Mark Henwick

I was born in Africa and left out in the sun too often. An early interest in philosophy and psychology was adequately exorcised by tending bars. And while trying to enroll in a class to read Science Fiction full time, I ended up taking an engineering degree which splendidly qualified me to move into marketing. That in turn spawned a late onset career in creative writing. When not working, I get high by the slightly less conventional means of a small light aircraft. My first book, 'Sleight of Hand' is available on Amazon at http://amzn.to/Sa0D3n

28 responses to “Monthly roundup – update on schedules”

  1. Dee DenBleyker says :

    Dear Mark, I would love to have a copy of the anthology you are about to release. I am also looking forward to your next book. I have enjoyed the entire series not to mention Bian’s tale. Thank you for all your hard work that brings so much pleasure to this reader. Sincerely,Dee DenBleyker

    • Mark Henwick says :

      Thanks Dee. You’re on the list for the anthology.

      Thanks also for the vote on Bian’s Tale. I *will* get back to that book in January. I hope I continue to succeed for you in my writing.

  2. Renee Connell says :

    Hi Mark,

    I would love to receive a copy A Very Paranormal Holiday.

    My email address is: <>

    Thank you.

    Renee Connell

  3. Deirdre Devine says :

    I would also love a copy, if I understand correctly I can’t buy it? I hope your new book is going well, I am looking forward to a good book to read, I have been wading through a lot of dreck since Hidden Trump. =( (I think you might still have my email addy?)

    • Mark Henwick says :

      Thanks Deirdre, you’re now in the anthology list.
      The book will not be for sale, certainly initially. If the response to the advertising is good enough, then we’ll keep it that way. If not, at some stage we’ll look at making it available through the usual channels.

      (I do hope you’ve read Wild Card…) 🙂

  4. Patricia says :

    Please add me to the list to get “A Very Paranormal Holiday” Thank you and I’m looking forward to this anthology.

    >

    • Mark Henwick says :

      Thanks Patricia, you’re in the anthology list now too. I will post when I have a definite date for release, but you’ll get the email anyway sometime in the next couple of weeks.

  5. Sharon Sayegh says :

    Hi Mark!

    Please add me to receive a copy of A Very Paranormal Holiday! I’m excitedly looking forward to reading it! :o)

  6. Harper Andree says :

    Hey Mark,
    I wouldn’t translate Wild Card at all. Why? Cause we use it in German as well, it’s kind of a set phrase like “Royal Flush”, “Déjà-vu” or “quid-pro-quo”.
    What comes close to it in German … maybe “Schicksalswende” or “Wendung des Schicksals”.
    If you’re looking for a transaltion of “Cool Hand” … a little advance warning 😉 “Kühle Hand” would be too close to “Eiskaltes Händchen” – the disembodied hand (in English “Thing”) that performed various useful functions for the Addams family.

    Regards

    Harper

    • Mark Henwick says :

      Lol! Thanks Harper. I would love to leave it as Wild Card.

      For Cool Hand – I guess that relies on how many people know of the Steve McQueen film, but I will definitely avoid the Addams family Thing. 🙂

  7. elkwood says :

    Hi love to get a copy of the anthology. Hoping Cool Hand makes it out before the 25th!!

    • Mark Henwick says :

      Thanks Elkwood. You’re in the list for the anthology now.
      I’m working hard on Cool Hand. I’ve got some quite difficult feedback from my editor on improvements that I have to take on board. Hopefully next weekend I’ll be able to make an accurate guess for the publication date.

  8. leveke says :

    Hey Mark,
    I woud love to get a copy of “A Very Paranormal Holiday”. I dont think translating “Wild Card” is necessary. The phrase is familiar with most germans and english titles sell well anyway ^^.

  9. N Gallups says :

    Please add me to the list to receive ‘A Very Paranormal Holiday’. Thank you

  10. Carolyn says :

    Please add me to the list for the ‘Very Paranormal Holiday’ anthology. So far I’ve only read Sleight of Hand, but am looking forward to a marathon read of three books when Cool Hand is published.

  11. Daniel Dobbelstein says :

    Hello Mark,

    i believe you still have my email, please add me to the anthology as well. Can’t wait for my next “Amberfix”. Its been tooo long… i think i read the books like 4 times by now, well hidden trump probably more often.
    I would leave it at Wild Card as well for the german version.
    Most germans do understand at least a little english, and even if not, Wild Card is a term we use too.

    Thanks for your wonderful Books
    Daniel from Munich

  12. qwertztaste says :

    Hi Mark,

    I`d like to get a copy of the anthology..

    I noticed that there`s no longer a table of contents in SoH (Kindle: go-to function). At least in the (supposed) latest version available on amazon.de.
    Furthermore the changes you announced on https://henwick.wordpress.com/2014/06/12/german-version-of-sleight-of-hand/ are not made.

  13. Moritz Walter says :

    Hello Mark,

    I would love a copy of the Anthology, please put me on the list.

    Like many people have said leave it at Wild Card. English booktitles are not uncommon in our bookstores.

  14. sally moss says :

    Could you add me to the list of those who would like please

    Thanks and Merry Xmas

    Sally

Leave a Reply

