August end-of-month with / mit English and / und Deutsch

Sales Numbers

Raw Deal  19738
Sleight of Hand  20390
Hidden Trump  14579
Wild Card 5536

Die verborgene Hand 578

Small, steady selling. Nothing to blog about!

Marketing

As per my report in one of the previous blogs, I reduced the price of SoH to $0.99 for a week and got BookGorilla to include it in their daily email posting. I reported the numbers in the week, so I’ll just say that there were some slightly higher sales after the end of the promotion, but the effect dies away quickly.

I did get a slight boost (I think) from Susan Illene promoting Darkness Haunts. Why should that help my sales? Because the two series are associated in the ‘also read’ linkage in Amazon, and it’s entirely possible that people coming in to Susan’s series will also get recommendations for Bite Back.

Amazon knows the real reasons behind many of these sales questions, but they say nothing! 🙂

Promotion

I’m appearing in a podcast for http://bitterwithoutyou.com/ on September 21st. I’m not sure how I appear in a podcast, but anyway, I’ll be answering questions and reading a section of one of the books, or whatever they decide to do with me!

Deutsch

Die verborgene Hand :
Ein Leser hat eine Beschwerde. In dem DvH Buch spricht Werner im bayerischen Dialekt. Dieser Leser, sagt der bayerische Dialekt ist falsch.
Haben Sie es finden?
This is a short end-of-month report because writing is going well!

Tags: , ,

About Mark Henwick

I was born in Africa and left out in the sun too often. An early interest in philosophy and psychology was adequately exorcised by tending bars. And while trying to enroll in a class to read Science Fiction full time, I ended up taking an engineering degree which splendidly qualified me to move into marketing. That in turn spawned a late onset career in creative writing. When not working, I get high by the slightly less conventional means of a small light aircraft. My first book, 'Sleight of Hand' is available on Amazon at http://amzn.to/Sa0D3n

9 responses to “August end-of-month with / mit English and / und Deutsch”

  1. Daniel Dobbelstein says :

    Hello Mark,

    i must admit i did not read the german translation of the book yet, since i loathe translations in general. The complaint though that you mention makes no sense to me, since Schuhmacher, doesn’t speak bavarian in a german town, but he lives in an american city, and speaks english with probably a bavarian accent.
    Very unlikely Amber would understand him if he talked bavarian dialect, since most germans do have a bit of a problem understanding us Bavarians when we do.
    Thus i would think he shouldn’t be talking bavarian dialect at all, maybe an accent, but thats it.

    Sincerely
    Daneil

    • Mark Henwick says :

      Thanks Daniel

      Yes, everything is in Denver, but they’re all speaking German. Haike and I spoke about how to replicate the feel of Werner and Klara in the translation, since Werner especially speaks an idiosyncratic version of English in SoH. Since he’s Bavarian it seemed obvious to make him speak dialect.

      I’ll send you the extract to show what we did. I would be interested in your opinion as someone from the area!

  2. Richard says :

    side comment

    you stated some time ago that you were working on new book covers. how is that going?

    • Mark Henwick says :

      Good question!

      My writing has been so slow this year that I’ve held back on most of the side projects like the new book covers.

      The projects I have running at the moment –
      Audio version of SoH (looks like November release)
      Translation of HT (November)
      An Athanate short story for an anthology with 5 other UF authors to be released at Christmas
      Book cover for Cool Hand (I have the basic picture of Amber)

      I’ve got the odd marketing bit to do – for example the podcast at the end of this week and a week-long reduction in the price of all books to benefit from any extra visibility that produces.

      But mainly, I’m writing. My early beta readers are seeing the first quarter of Cool Hand, I’m working on the second & third and have most of the fourth drafted out. Going a little better.

  3. Kris says :

    Hi Mark,

    I haven’t read the German version because I already have the English one (and I also don’t like to read translations if I don’t need them). However, a person living in Bavaria need not speak with an accent. I am originally from Berlin and don’t speak with an accent. If Werner does, his wife should probably also speak with that accent because you tend to pick these things up from a partner. Also, Bavaria is a big Bundesland with lots of local accents which can be quite different. So depending on where in Bavaria Werner is from, the accent may or may not be correct (if you want to get really picky about it).

    Cheers,
    Keis

  4. https://www.facebook.com/ says :

    I needed to thank you for this excellent read!! I absolutely loved every bit of it.
    I have got you book marked to look at new stuff you post…

Leave a Reply

