June round-up

NEWS

I have just taken on a narrator, Kimberly Henrie, to narrate the Bite Back series, starting with Sleight of Hand. Kimberly’s sample clips on the ACX website are good, but what really got me was the sample reading she did from SoH – the opening couple of pages of Chapter 2. Wow! Anyway, the show is now on the road, and the audiobook should be available through Amazon and iTunes in a month or so. I’m really excited.

I’ll have to see how it goes on Amazon, but I’m hopeful that all the books will appear in audio.

The German version of SoH – Die verborgene Hand – is doing well. I published on the 18th, and there were 57 sales in June. There are already 27 this month (just checked).  Ich liebe euch.  If it keeps going like that, I’ll be talking to Haike about translating the rest as soon as she can.

UPDATE

Bian’s Tale 1, Saigon – the Reach of Lies. I got feedback on the first half from my editor. Some of you may have seen a comment I made on Facebook, that some people in traditional publishing claim editors can’t do a good job for indie writers. The reason given was this: because the writers are paying the editors, the editors will only say what the writers want to hear. Ahem. My editor tells me what I need to know, and in this case it wasn’t quite that I’d lost the plot, but I’d definitely lost the pace. She also brought up a couple of reality checks for young girls living in Saigon in the 19th Century. I’ve stopped writing while I process that feedback.

Bite Back 4, Cool Hand. I’ve got the first and last quarters well outlined with some scenes filled in, but the events that drive the middle of the book just weren’t doing it. So back to the drawing board there as well.

All of the above pushed back my completing the back story summaries I’ve been talking about.

There will be better news by the end of the month.

SALES

Summer is  s l o w  season.

Raw Deal 19,601

Sleight of Hand 19,969

Hidden Trump 14,339

Wild Card 5,197

I’m still talking to people who say they loved SoH and HT, and ask when the 3rd book is coming out. Sigh.

MARKETING

Yes, I have something to report! One of you guys (Brian) is attending a convention and has started carpet bombing with the leaflets I put up on the Facebook page earlier this month. I’ll tell you how it goes next end-of-month.

The slow pickup of Wild Card convinces me that I need to have some way of communicating with more of my readership. I’ve asked a couple of writing friends about creating an anthology of short stories which would only be available by emailing in a request. Not definite yet, but a good maybe. Watch this space.

OTHER STUFF

Well, I will have some news (not about me or my writing) that I can release soon… It’s very frustrating not being able tell you 🙂 Watch this space…

Into SciFi? Have a look at Leviathan Wakes by S. A. Corey. He’s just won the Locus award for the 3rd book in the series. I haven’t finished it because I’m only reading a chapter or so a day, but it’s very well done. About the only thing wrong with it is he’s not an indie.

And in the meantime, Happy Independence Day for those across the pond and enjoy the weekend anyway for the rest of us!

 

Tags:

About Mark Henwick

I was born in Africa and left out in the sun too often. An early interest in philosophy and psychology was adequately exorcised by tending bars. And while trying to enroll in a class to read Science Fiction full time, I ended up taking an engineering degree which splendidly qualified me to move into marketing. That in turn spawned a late onset career in creative writing. When not working, I get high by the slightly less conventional means of a small light aircraft. My first book, 'Sleight of Hand' is available on Amazon at http://amzn.to/Sa0D3n

10 responses to “June round-up”

  1. soireadthisbooktoday says :

    DOING HAPPY DANCE!!! You know I love Audio Books!! I can hardly wait to listen…..

    Sounds like you have the summer blahs – but then, everyone else is saying the same thing, so for now, it gives you the opportunity to write! (wink wink nudge nudge grin)

    Hugs!
    Leiah

  2. Mark Henwick says :

    A short clip of Kimberly reading from Chapter 2 should appear on the Facebook page soon. (https://www.facebook.com/TheBiteBackSeries)
    If you haven’t already, please ‘Like’ the page. Thanks. 🙂

  3. sally says :

    Sorry if this sounds negative but was glad you have had a rethink on reach of lies – i have really enjoyed the previous books but on the basis of what you were showing us was going to avoid this completely. hopefully revisions will make it less boring a read. pace is certainly an issue. If you want more detail please advise. Let me reiterate, I really enjoyed earlier work, and personally would say you are dumbing down if you add summaries as you have discussed. please just press on with the main story arc

  4. Bernd says :

    Glad you paused. The quality has been high sofar and I for one am hoping it stays that way. That said hope it flows well for the rest of the book so you make up some time.

  5. Christopher Burgess says :

    Your Bite Back books are addictive as hell! While I understand the need to slow down and produce quality, I’m also jonesing for the next book. Keep up the great work!

    • Mark Henwick says :

      Sorry Christopher! Your comment got stuck in the web site spam filter for some reason. You should be able to comment straight away now.

      Thanks for the feedback. I’m working hard at the writing.

Leave a Reply

