Mini update

I’m well into the 3rd section (of five) for Bian’s Tale and should have another teaser ready at the end of the month. The only thing that might stop that at the moment is the progress on Bite Back 4, which has taken more of my time over the last couple of weeks – I have the usual flash-bang start and a pile of things getting dumped on Amber one after the other 🙂

Other bits and pieces – I hope this tip may be of use to some of you – my Kindle stopped working a week ago. It refused to power up and wouldn’t charge. After a search on the internet, I came up with a solution that fixed it. The problem is that the processor inside gets into some crazy state, and the solution is a reset and re-boot. To do this, hold down the on/off button for 30 seconds and then release. It’ll either power up immediately, or you press the on/off button again briefly. I have an old Kindle, but apparently this works for the Fire as well.

Another strange tip. Ever wonder how many sales a book has made? There’s a formula I use which works for the limited number of books I can check against. Firstly, it has to be a book that gets its primary sales as an ebook. It has to be genre fiction. It has to have been on the market for about a year. If it passes those, take the number of Amazon reviews and multiply by 100. That will give you the approximate number of sales. Notice *sales* – this doesn’t work for books that are offered free for long periods.

So… Hidden Trump has 138 reviews between US Amazon and UK Amazon. That suggest sales of 13,800, and the actual is 12,800 between those two countries. Sleight of Hand has 184 reviews, suggesting 18,400 sales and the actual is 18,000. (Total sales/downloads worldwide at the moment are SoH 19,400 HT 13,800 RD 19,100 and WC 4,200.)

What’s open on my Kindle at the moment, now I have it back up? Guardian Angel by Sara Paretsky, Frost Burned by Patricia Briggs, Perfect by JC Mells, Magic Slays by Ilona Andrews, Returning my Sister’s Face by Eugie Foster, Bloody Mary by JA Konrath, The Golem and the Djinni by Helene Wrecker. On the paper pile – Thieftaker by DB Jackson, Still Life by Louise Penny, and the rewritten ARC for the first part of my daughter’s book, Beneath the Jade Throne.

 

 

 

Tags:

About Mark Henwick

I was born in Africa and left out in the sun too often. An early interest in philosophy and psychology was adequately exorcised by tending bars. And while trying to enroll in a class to read Science Fiction full time, I ended up taking an engineering degree which splendidly qualified me to move into marketing. That in turn spawned a late onset career in creative writing. When not working, I get high by the slightly less conventional means of a small light aircraft. My first book, 'Sleight of Hand' is available on Amazon at http://amzn.to/Sa0D3n

10 responses to “Mini update”

  1. Deborah Jay says :

    Hi Mark, I had that problem with my Kindle Fire after I’d had it for about a month, and I also looked up that solution. Unfortunately for me it didn’t work, so I contacted Amazon and, impressively, a brand new one arrived in the post the following day.
    Apparently it is not an uncommon issue with the Fire, but my replacement is still working fine more than a year later.

  2. Susan says :

    Hey Mark, glad to hear you’re moving along with your books. Keep up the good work!

    My stats for reviews to purchases ratio is quite a bit different. To be fair, most of the book bloggers who have posted reviews for me did not do so on Amazon, which hurt me but they didn’t pay for the books anyway. As of now, though, I average 1 review for every 155 purchases on Amazon US. It’s about 1 for every 140 over on Amazon UK. Barnes & Noble is a little better on its ratio for two of my novels. Kobo has no place I’ve seen to post reviews. This no doubt varies with all books. I knew of one girl who couldn’t have sold more than 500 copies of her books, but solicited Amazon reviews so heavily that she had over 100 of them. Giving her a 1 in 5 ratio. It definitely depends on a lot of factors.

    • Mark Henwick says :

      Lol. I knew someone would shoot the formula down. It doesn’t work for everyone, but I have heard it from several places.
      Kobo is a funny site. They claimed to be gearing up to ‘take on Amazon’, but haven’t put anything into their site.

  3. Fastidious says :

    Mark.
    Is your daughter a writer as well? Is is Beneath the Jade Throne something you’ve written for her? Also, interesting formula for book sales, and reminds me I need to leave more reviews! And makes me think about how I never post reviews on amazon, only goodreads. Do you think that book sales improve when they’re posted in both places?

    • Mark Henwick says :

      My daughter, Jessica, is an actress, currently appearing in Silk, a BBC legal drama. JessicaHenwick.com is her web site. However, she’s also a writer. She is, as yet, unpublished. The book is most definitely hers, and her style is quite different. My only input is as a beta reader. Jessica’s searching for an agent at the moment, and going through continual revisions. The book is now longer than Wild Card! It’s Fantasy, set in an alternate reality Orient. I’ll try and get her to put a sample somewhere.

      Now, that’s not all of us in the family… my late mother also wrote a book. It’s a murder mystery set in Northern Rhodesia (now Zambia) during the colonial era. The book is in my hands and I was planning to publish it this year, but I think I will hold off till next year.

      Reviews: I love my GoodReads reviews as much as my Amazon reviews, though of course they’re likely to be the same thing at some time on the future. It’s my opinion that they both feed sales. Would sales improve if readers posted in both? I’m not sure, but my gut feel is it would make a positive difference.

  4. Fastidious says :

    Oops, meant to say ‘Or, is Beneath the Jade Throne something written by you for her?’

  5. Mark Henwick says :

    Katherine, yes, that’s my girl.
    It’s a good recommendation for the show that it’s apparently compulsory viewing for a lot of the legal profession 🙂

Leave a Reply

