Reading update and recommendation

I know from comments on the site that a fair few of you follow Debra Dunbar’s Imp series, and this post is just a short one in case you haven’t spotted ‘No Man’s Land’, her latest.
It’s set in the Imp world, but focuses on an outcast vampire and mysterious werewolf.
I got it on the Kindle and put it in with the rest to be parceled out a chapter or two at a time. That was a couple of days ago. 🙂
Anyway, it’s a great opener, with damnable, evil vampires who scheme and plot and betray at the drop of a hat, snappy werewolves who can’t see beyond their own snarling snouts, and the ever present threat of the angels. And then a little ray of light…
I’ll do a proper review when I can. In the meantime, leap across to Amazon and buy. You don’t need to have read the Imp series to enjoy.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00IA6JCXM/

Tags:

About Mark Henwick

I was born in Africa and left out in the sun too often. An early interest in philosophy and psychology was adequately exorcised by tending bars. And while trying to enroll in a class to read Science Fiction full time, I ended up taking an engineering degree which splendidly qualified me to move into marketing. That in turn spawned a late onset career in creative writing. When not working, I get high by the slightly less conventional means of a small light aircraft. My first book, 'Sleight of Hand' is available on Amazon at http://amzn.to/Sa0D3n

8 responses to “Reading update and recommendation”

  1. wiggiemomsi says :

    Wow, you always recommend such good books! I was so impressed by the Imp World that I went and got all 5 of the original ebooks! :o)

  2. soireadthisbooktoday says :

    I will have to try these!

    • Robert Bird says :

      Hi Leiah,

      I just wanted to point out that I recommended Debra’s Imp series to you back on Dec. 22 – on another of Mark’s posts when we were in Amber withdrawal waiting for Wild Card. I was sure it had come up in one of our chats or something so I looked for it. You’ll love them. 😉

  3. Mark Henwick says :

    Thanks Leiah, ‘Wiggie’ 🙂
    One of the many things I like about this one is the pacing of the arcs. We meet the protagonist, and, shock, horror, we don’t like her immediately. In a book that is clearly the opener for a series, the relationships aren’t all neatly tied up at the end, and so on.

  4. elkwood says :

    Thanks for the heads up ! I really enjoyed the imp series and will have to get this one a shot

  5. Robert Bird says :

    I read these books a while back and I loved them. There is a real growth from the characters as you go through the arc. I read No Man’s Land a couple of days before you posted this. Then I went back and reread the others. I had forgotten the clear tie-in between the original Imp books and No Man’s Land because of how much time had passed. It makes me wonder if Debra had planned to write this novel all the way back then.

  6. Mark Henwick says :

    I admit I missed the tie-up as well!
    I’m still reading through the Imp series – this is the position I am in with every series on my list 🙂

Leave a Reply

