Print version of Wild Card

I’ve just confirmed the proof and ordered the first copies.
I dropped the font to 10 and accepted the large format 6×9, which means the book is ‘only’ about 1.1 inches thick.
I’ve ordered some copies, two of which will be signed and sent – one to Moritz in Berlin (won a competition on Lauren Sweet’s page), and one to TK in London (beat me on a challenge I put on the FB page). They’ll still take another 2-3 weeks to arrive!
Next up Raw Deal print version. And then either redo the covers for SoH and HT, or redo all the covers…

Working (slowly) on ‘Saigon – The Reach of Lies’ and ‘Cool Hand’ – update on progress at the end of the month!

About Mark Henwick

I was born in Africa and left out in the sun too often. An early interest in philosophy and psychology was adequately exorcised by tending bars. And while trying to enroll in a class to read Science Fiction full time, I ended up taking an engineering degree which splendidly qualified me to move into marketing. That in turn spawned a late onset career in creative writing. When not working, I get high by the slightly less conventional means of a small light aircraft. My first book, 'Sleight of Hand' is available on Amazon at http://amzn.to/Sa0D3n

9 responses to “Print version of Wild Card”

  1. Deborah Jay says :

    I just finished Raw Deal and loved it! Will be posting a review soon ๐Ÿ˜€
    Can’t wait to get to the others in the series – if only my TBR list wasn’t already so long, not to mention keeping up with writing time…sigh. If only there were more hours in the day.

    • Mark Henwick says :

      Thanks Deborah ๐Ÿ™‚
      The TBR lists are difficult to handle. I also find that the Kindle does *not* help. I’ve always been happy to read a couple of books in parallel, but on the Kindle, I have a dozen open!

  2. Bernd says :

    Well I have your books on Kindle so I’m not at the moment planing to rebuy them. I am glad you are reaching the point where it makes spence to publish on paper. Wishing you the best getting them into bookstores. I do wish you where on iBookstore as I do my reading on a iPad and the iBook app is better on the iPad than the Kindle app on iPad. As it is I am enjoying the read so please keep it up.

    • Bernd says :

      Sense not spence. Love my my auto correcting touch keyboard. I get such neat word substitution if I am not paying close enough attention.

  3. Bernd says :

    Just looked on Amazon and raw deal on the US store is now $1.99. The one nice thing about the iBookstore is Apple does not randomly change prices on its authors. The Author sets the price on the iBookstore apple just takes a fixed % of the price and a minimum price is 99ยข or $0.00. I think you found the Kobo is the same way.

    • Mark Henwick says :

      Bernd, I have my iTunes account and an Mac mini computer, so I will be getting the books on iPad format soon.
      The pricing on Raw Deal… I’ve pretty much given up. Amazon charges in the US, but doesn’t elsewhere. I’ve indicated to them that if they charge it should be $1.99. In the meantime, I will continue to provide Raw Deal free to people who come to the website and ask for it. My ‘charge’ will be to take the email address and use it to alert the reader when a new book is available.
      The reason that database of email addresses has become more important to me is that Amazon has clearly decided not to advertise Wild Card to existing readers of the series, so I need, over time, to make sure I have my own direct connection with readers.

      • Bernd says :

        I will most likely keep going in kindle so all the books are together. The new sub series may end up in iBooks. Will see how I feel when they come out. If you ever start a new series and it comes out on both systems I would go iTunes/ iBook.

  4. Mark Henwick says :

    I have had, yesterday, a pitch from Gideon and Jessica, my two eldest children. They are already in charge of coming up with covers for Bian’s Tale and they want a new look for the Bite Back series as well.
    It was a very interesting pitch with exciting ideas. Having slept on it, I woke up this morning thinking that perhaps I should have two sets of covers – one for the print books and one for the ebooks. The ideas that look so lovely and effective in a 6″x9″ cover in a bookstore don’t necessarily look so lovely when you see them compressed to 200×300 pixels as an Amazon thumbnail…

    This’ll turn into a series of posts about covers generally, I think…

Leave a Reply

