Final editing update

Saturday night report πŸ™‚
All structural edits done.
Tomorrow, I have one pass through the text for minor edits which I have accumulated (with lots of help from Jessica), and then the final read through.
I’ve done the cover titles, but I still have to write the cover copy.
That should mean that I press the publish button on Amazon sometime Sunday evening, and it should be available sometime on Monday.
I’ll post again when I’ve pressed that button.
Nearly there!

About Mark Henwick

I was born in Africa and left out in the sun too often. An early interest in philosophy and psychology was adequately exorcised by tending bars. And while trying to enroll in a class to read Science Fiction full time, I ended up taking an engineering degree which splendidly qualified me to move into marketing. That in turn spawned a late onset career in creative writing. When not working, I get high by the slightly less conventional means of a small light aircraft. My first book, 'Sleight of Hand' is available on Amazon at http://amzn.to/Sa0D3n

24 responses to “Final editing update”

  1. soireadthisbooktoday says :

    OH. MY. GOD!!!! JUMPING UP AND DOWN AND SCREAMING LIKE A FLIPPIN’ LITTLE GIRL!!!!!!!!

    I am waiting anxiously, my friend!!!

  2. soireadthisbooktoday says :

    Reblogged this on So, I Read This Book Today . . . and commented:
    Anyone who knows me knows I am a HUGE Mark Henwick fan – his Amber Farrell novels, set in Denver, are marvelous. Of course, I admit to something of a prejudice in that regard, as I helped him out with forensic and police sciences for the area (sort of hard for a Brit to get everything exactly right when you are writing about Denver!)
    Sounds like I will be curled up in my favorite chair with a pot of tea and a quilt on Monday while I immerse myself in the next edition of the trials and tribulations of Amber Farrell!

  3. carolyn says :

    Merry Christmas to me! Well worth the wait. I am so excited!!

  4. Lane says :

    That’s great news! Dying to get my holiday reading off with a bang!!

  5. Robert Bird says :

    I guess I’ll be doing my first read through Monday then. I always read Mark’s books twice almost right away. I tend to rush the first time through (getting my fix) and then I read it again more leisurely. Can’t wait :>)

    • soireadthisbooktoday says :

      I do as well, Robert! We will both be curled up reading all day on Monday then . . . I am trying to squeeze in time to reread the first books before Monday – it always keeps me in an “Amber State Of Mind” when I can read all of them together – gives the most recent in the series such an extra power!

      • Robert Bird says :

        I read them this week. I’ve also been rereading books from other series with upcoming new releases. The only problem is that I can read books by my favorite authors faster than they can write them.

        I am so looking forward to this book. I loved SoH and HT. I enjoyed Raw Deal as well but I missed the interactions between Amber and the other characters. Raw Deal took place after she lost her army buddies and before she had met very many other people, so it was missing some of the camaraderie in the other books. I loved seeing how she saved Emily and met Jose.

        Maybe we’ll get a chance to read about how she washed out of her short-lived accounting career sometime too.

      • Robert Bird says :

        I checked out your website as you mentioned below (I couldn’t reply there – I guess there is a depth limit on the conversation). I’m going to check it out closer to see if I can email you through there. I don’t want to fill up Mark’s posts with unrelated stuff, but we have so much in common about what we like (or dislike) in stories. So much stuff is formula with a poor excuse for a plot being used to connect a bunch of sex scenes. And the poor understanding of synonyms – rein/reign, wave/waive, then/than, and so on. I’m getting good at recognizing those early. Anyway, I’m planning to mine your reviews to pick some promising authors to add to my list.

  6. Renee says :

    Sweet. So looking forward to reading the next book in Ambers Farrell’s quest. Merry Christmas Mark to you and your family.

  7. James Crutchley says :

    Awesome news. Very happy to hear its going to be out soon. Good work and i can hardly wait to hit buy it now button. I will be sitting on amazon hitting refresh button on your page most of the day waiting and hoping it comes out! I won’t be upset if it does not its just something i do to kill time. Really loved the 2 previous books and hope this one is as good. I have found the second book was better not because the first was bad but because i knew more about the characters and the world and had build up suspense and could anticipate the action so it was more enjoyable.

  8. wiggiemomsi says :

    Oh, hooray! And a big hug for being so thoughtful as to keep your loyal, rabid fans updated! :o)

  9. James Crutchley says :

    Ya just bought all the ebooks again for another device. Usually if i buy it on Amazon i just rip out drm to add to kobo. But i like to support the author so when i find an indy author i like i buy a copy for every type of device in hopes this promotes their sales quota and improves odds of more ebooks.

    Usually i do not bother with big name authors. I just buy one edition and rip drm out and put them on all my devices. Now though its legal to do this in Canada.

    Well at least i do not personally have any problem removing drm to port to another device as long as i do not share it or let others read on my device. Sorry if this upsets the author but i did mention i bought his books for every device not because I care whether or not its legal I just want his sales higher. If only by a single sale for each ebook.

    If he feels my post is off topic or inappropriate just edit out what he does not like. Sorry i just felt i wanted to mention this as i wanted the authors input on what he thought regarding ripping out drm to port to multiple devices. I have the kindle app on my android devices and have a kobo
    Aura HD the original version and its an e-ink device and has much better battery life than my tablet and I am low income on disability and can not afford to buy every ebook twice just to get it on devices i want.

    If i say was even close to the poverty line and got by I would just buy every book again.

    Oh yes my i skimp on food and laundry to spend about $150.00 or more on ebooks every month. So yes I spend outrageous amounts of money on ebooks when i have less than a $1000.00 a month CAD but this what i do for entertainment.

    I read and do not have cable as i find it mind blowing expensive compared to netflix and the cost of ebooks is so darn cheap compared to a $40.00 hard cover that is very common here. I find most trade paperbacks are about 10 to 12 dollars each and amazon and kobo have very good prices on ebooks.

    I got a 45% off coupon in email that i applied to my purchase of Marks ebooks. Dunno how this affects his sales but i can’t turn down that type of offer.

    • Robert Bird says :

      I read a ton of ebooks by new authors. I have nothing against reading big name authors (or as big as they get in SF/Fantasy) although I find that mostly ends up being authors who were being published before ebooks broke bigtime. The ones I like don’t put out enough new material though, so I gamble on new, independent authors regularly.

      I really use the “Send sample now” button a lot. Even with that I probably only finish 40% of them though. I think that is what is lost from the old way – the editing and polish on a lot of independent stuff is lacking. I think I spend just as much now as then even though each book is much cheaper because I buy more.

      That editing and polish is what really sets Mark’s books apart from most of the independent new authors (plus having the great stories of course). I felt the same when I read Debra Dunbar’s Imp books. I devoured those (with the consequence that I am waiting there too).

      • soireadthisbooktoday says :

        I do the same thing… I love rereading the books that I love the best every time another is about to come out. I want to be able to immerse myself into the story, to become one with the atmosphere, the characters, and the world the author has created.

        I know what you mean about the editing and polishing – if you look at my website you will see an interview I did for Phoenix Author Ink where I discuss the problems of poorly edited books. Mark certainly doesn’t have that problem! And you are correct – I also use the “Send sample now” a lot – and my Kindle has literally hundreds of books on.

        Debra Dunbar – I will have to check those out, thanks!

        But for now…. counting the hours till Amber Hour!!!!!!!

    • Mark Henwick says :

      Interesting topic, James. I have *no* problem whatsoever with readers who buy my books and then make backups or change format to read on different devices, and I wish it were easier.

      I have a quiet meltdown when other people rip the text and put it up on servers for people to download for free. (It took only 2 days for the first of these to pop up for Wild Card).

  10. heather says :

    I can’t wait! Thanks for the updates, and including us in your process.

  11. James Crutchley says :

    Heh. Well I find i read a lot of indie authors mainly for the same reasons. Most authors with major publishing contracts put out way fewer books than indy authors. Some even start new series and stop after 2 or 3 books because the publisher marketing team does not want different series competing for sales.

    I find most indie authors can’t afford proper polish and editing. And I myself do not normally notice the grammatical errors or flaws in design.

    I find when i get a really good book I have trouble putting it down and only do so when i cannot stay awake and/or need to eat because i have a few days without eating. I’m not kidding either, I have gone 12 to 16 hours with nothing but coffee and cigarettes to keep me going. I get so into a book that i ignore just about everything else.

    I find I read books that interest me over and over sometimes even read entire series several times just months apart.

  12. James Crutchley says :

    Sitting on Amazon.ca hitting refresh on Marks page! Seriously doubt he will be publishing in middle of the Night but its something to do.

    Currently spending the night reading at home listening to Top 40 on headphones. Well its nice night to read. Real cold here on west coast in Canada. No it is not cold year round. Its rare for it to snow. Most canadians live within 100 miles of the border. Thats over 80% of the population.

    Well hopefully books out today as I am running out of things to read. I’m down to 3 more books by another author but will put them away as soon as Mark hits publish and i notice it’s available.

  13. Amanda says :

    Hi Mark,
    Thank you so much for keeping us in the loop! I for one will be downloading the book tomorrow!! So looking forward to it😊 and congratulations on finishing it before Christmas.
    Regards
    Amanda

  14. Bernd says :

    Thank you Mark. Looking forward to the new book. I will be doing the happy dance when I can get it.

  15. Robert Bird says :

    I’m without power – ice storm Toronto. I’m checking on my cell phone. I’ll use it as a hotspot with my kindle to download if I need to.

  16. Mark Henwick says :

    Thanks all for your comments on this blog which helped keep me going in the run-up to the release!

Leave a Reply

