Editing update and cover image

Wild_Card_Cover_04_small

The cover image

Here’s the image for the cover of Wild Card.

Yup, broke the rules. Day rather than night and not a weapon in sight.

Thank you for the many positive comments that you’ve posted as we’ve got closer to publication date (which is still looking good for before Christmas).
What have I been working on? Well, those Part 4 edits and the scenes that feed into them. My editor is one fierce lady. A few of the sub-plots that I tied up in Part 4, she just said “Meh. You’ve tied up the sub-plot, but you haven’t made me care enough.” She wants to laugh or cry whenever I wrap something. So the Part 4 edits have required fine tuning of the previous scenes in Parts 1-3 that build the arc toward that end scene. All good stuff.

And the result? I think it’s better. But not smaller. I looked at the mirror this morning and jabbed my finger at the guy and told him to cut 10k words. He didn’t. In fact he added some. 🙂
A couple of you have been concerned at what I’m ‘removing’. Any scene that gets chopped is either bad (in which case it’s dumped and you really don’t want to see it) or good but not for now, in which case I’ll find a way to incorporate it somewhere else. As an example, for those of you that have read the prequel, the Club Agonia scene was originally intended for Sleight of Hand.

I know people are keeping on looking at this page, so I’ll keep posting updates until I publish.

What else? Raw Deal has just overtaken Sleight of Hand in total numbers.

About Mark Henwick

I was born in Africa and left out in the sun too often. An early interest in philosophy and psychology was adequately exorcised by tending bars. And while trying to enroll in a class to read Science Fiction full time, I ended up taking an engineering degree which splendidly qualified me to move into marketing. That in turn spawned a late onset career in creative writing. When not working, I get high by the slightly less conventional means of a small light aircraft. My first book, 'Sleight of Hand' is available on Amazon at http://amzn.to/Sa0D3n

12 responses to “Editing update and cover image”

  1. C Hoskins says :

    Fab cover, getting closer to another good read!! Thanks for your update

  2. Moritz Walter says :

    great cover, i don’t mind that you broke the rules and thank you for your update! It is good that you keep posting updates, i miss that from other authors.

  3. Jon.Gray says :

    Not to worry…longer is good!

  4. Sharon Sayegh says :

    I bet that your rabid fans (points at self) would dance around whooping with joy if you were to post a couple of those “deleted scenes” for us!! :o)

  5. Bernd says :

    Any new snippets coming? Love the new cover for the book. Keep up the good work; love the fact that you are keeping us updated.

  6. A Ferkinhoff says :

    I was wondering if you do presales on Amazon so that way you could have an idea of what your sales would be and also so that the rest of us who have been here since the first book can buy it without worrying that we would miss them.

    • Mark Henwick says :

      Hi
      I’d love to do pre-orders, but Amazon only allow publishing houses to do that. However… as you’ve contacted me on this blog page I will use that email address to alert you when a release is available (unless you tell me not to of course).

    • Robert Bird says :

      Can you do presales without a defined publication date? Just curious. Because I’d rather keep an eye here and get the book as soon as it’s done than have to wait for a preset publication date if Mark beats it.

  7. Robert Bird says :

    Love the cover art. At first it looked odd, then I realized it was only the image (subconsciously I was expecting the text as if it was a complete cover). Can hardly wait now – anticipation!

  8. Kate says :

    Love cover and I keep checking every other day to see if any updates. Just waiting on it I soooooo can’t wait to devour it. It is going to be awesome.

Leave a Reply

