Editing update for Wild Card

I have now finished the structural edits for Part 3. I had intended to cut the length down by 10%, but whatever I cut seemed to sneak back in different places, so this section of the book is still around 54k words.

My most difficult-to-please beta reader has read up to the end of Part 3 and her verdict is: ‘best of the series’.

That was the good news.

Less good news, I still have to edit Part 4 (quite a lot of work), and both the editor and I need a final read through. I said Christmas for publication, and that might mean Christmas Eve! I should be sure by the weekend and will do another of these mini-posts, with the cover page.

 

About Mark Henwick

I was born in Africa and left out in the sun too often. An early interest in philosophy and psychology was adequately exorcised by tending bars. And while trying to enroll in a class to read Science Fiction full time, I ended up taking an engineering degree which splendidly qualified me to move into marketing. That in turn spawned a late onset career in creative writing. When not working, I get high by the slightly less conventional means of a small light aircraft. My first book, 'Sleight of Hand' is available on Amazon at http://amzn.to/Sa0D3n

9 responses to “Editing update for Wild Card”

  1. Tiina says :

    Crossing fingers for Christmas…

  2. Julia says :

    You and me both, Tiina! I can’t wait!

  3. elkwood says :

    Yep but really no worries if its after Christmas better to get it right then wish u done it different!! Can’t wait to read it !

  4. C Hoskins says :

    Thanks for your update Mark, really looking forward to reading your next book – GREAT Series.

  5. Bernd says :

    Just do your best. Better to delay a week or two than to have a half baked cake. Good luck and may it go well with the edits.

  6. Robert Bird says :

    If it can’t be a Christmas present, I’m okay with boxing week. Or a New Year’s resolution to read Wild Card as soon as I get my hands on it (I guess virtual hands since it’s an ebook).

    I’m actually glad that most of the stuff you were trying to cut kept making it back. I’d actually thought about asking for the pre-edit copy later if there were threads that didn’t get closure because of the edits.

    • Richard says :

      I second robert’s comment, I was also worried about the “cuts” effecting the book and asking for a pre-edit copy

  7. James Crutchley says :

    Awesome news. Crossing my fingers for Christmas Eve. Or maybe a Boxing day event? Would be nice to have something to read Christmas Day. I’m real happy that you are writing and finishing your book at such a busy time.

  8. Libro Vore says :

    Beats the prior estimate for January, so I’ll count it as a Christmas present. Anticipation aside, I’ll be buying it and reading it…and re-reading it…as soon as it’s available.

Leave a Reply

