Updates

I promised a quick update on how it’s going. It’s going well!

In the USA, at the time of writing (Saturday 3rd November), Sleight of Hand was ranked at 1251 in all Kindle books on Amazon.com, and 26th in all Contemporary Fantasy (there is no specific ‘Urban Fantasy’ category on Amazon). There are 16 reviews, all of them 4 or 5 stars.

(Huge thanks to those reviewers, and to those people who’ve sent emails through the contact form with positive messages. I hope I can exceed your expectations.)

The UK rating was even better, but is much more volatile, with the ranking on Kindle Contemporary Fantasy, for example, bouncing between 17th and 40th over the last week.

I’ve sold over 2000 copies, and the daily rate is around 80.

That’s almost all eBooks, but the paperback is also now available. Costs of printing being what they are, I expect eBooks will always dominate.

The fun bit (here come the statistics), is that in 12 days out of the last fortnight, the daily sales have exceeded the average of the previous week by 10% or more. So the daily sales are increasing at a very healthy rate.

Does this allow me to make predictions with better accuracy? No.

That doesn’t stop me predicting though.

Prediction 1: The sales will reach 4000 in November.

December and January are traditionally good sales months, obviously. However, Kindle books can’t be gifted at the moment, so this boost might apply less directly to my major eBook sales driver. However, Kindles will likely be Christmas presents and there should be an upturn in purchases because of that. So…

Prediction 2: I’m going to take a shot and say that I’ll reach my first milestone at the end of January – 10,000 books. That’ll be the date of my next major update on numbers. In the interim, I will be releasing the second book in the series, Hidden Trump, in December, probably in the first week, so the January update will have two books to report, and some interesting analysis on how much the release of the second book changed the shape of the curve for the first book.

Prediction 3: I’ll hit my second milestone, 20,000 book sales for Sleight of Hand , in the first year of sales – so, by end July 2013. This is the magic number given to me by an agent as ‘a worthwhile book’.

Prediction 4: I’m going to be very busy writing book 3 in the Bite Back series.

About Mark Henwick

I was born in Africa and left out in the sun too often. An early interest in philosophy and psychology was adequately exorcised by tending bars. And while trying to enroll in a class to read Science Fiction full time, I ended up taking an engineering degree which splendidly qualified me to move into marketing. That in turn spawned a late onset career in creative writing. When not working, I get high by the slightly less conventional means of a small light aircraft. My first book, 'Sleight of Hand' is available on Amazon at http://amzn.to/Sa0D3n

9 responses to “Updates”

  1. Michael Munson says :

    I very much enjoyed your first novel. I hope Hidden Trump is published soon!

  2. Erik. says :

    Definitely looking forward to the next book! Whats a rough ETA? 6-8 months?

  3. Mark Henwick says :

    I know! I know! Hidden Trump will be on Amazon this week. Definitely by Friday. It’s longer than SoH – 134k to 120k, despite being entirely about the week leading up to the Athanate Assembly, and the Assembly itself.
    Plotting for number 3, tentatively called Long Odds has started.
    Sorry about the delays everyone…

    • Erik. says :

      I really enjoyed Hidden Trump. I am looking forward to the 3rd book. I for one would like to see a 4th book after the unveiling to Humanity of what all is lurking in the shadows, detailing how a House runs on a day to day basis. Showing Amber with her House and Kin going about the normal business of living, or as normal as Amber can manage.

      Best wishes!

  4. Amarok says :

    SPOILER ALERT:

    I’m French, sorry for my English… I have just read “Hidden Trump, bite back 2”. Great book! Amber is a bit sloppy and dumb in the second book! For a Sergeant, her mistake was difficult to acknowledge. I don’t like the fact that she was’nt intelligent enough to know what the agent Ingram could do with fingerprints on the weapon she holds or that hodren will be a threat to her via her friends, or again that she goes to the assembly without know exactly what the oath of allegiance mean to “her” house ( that’s was a bit hard to believe, and she is a sergeant after all, she know about oath, responsibility and decision) etc… A lot of sloppiness. The story was great though. I like when political and economical influence is describen in a book of SF. The action and the plot was great. Pia and kath are great characters and their relationship with amber seem important. Kaothos is a great mystery to discover. I hope to see amber and house farrell more independent. That’s not funny if she does all the times what Skylur or larimer or ingram wants her to do. Amber have the possiblity to blackmail larimer to help her via her contact with the fbi and the police, he own her because she warned him of the rival were pack activity and police investigation and fbi treat (larimer does’nt want the police or the fbi to get involved in weres murders.) but instead larimer blackmail her for helping. Now he has a grip on her that she could have avoid and dismissed. The fact that she is a Sergeant and not a simple soldat is a great deal for me (especially her way of thinking). I wish her to become a good leader and not a slave of other being. “Bite back” is a series with huge potential, this was a fantastic discovery for me. Brilliant character (special mention for jen and bian), great plot (house’s plot and the potential of Emergence).

Leave a Reply

